Boyne, John

John Boyne
John Boyne. Image source

John Boyne was born in Dublin in 1971.

His first short story was published by the Sunday Tribune and shortlisted for a Hennessy Literary Award.

His novels for both adults and children are The Thief of Time (London, Weidenfeld & Nicholson, 2000); The Congress of Rough Riders, a fictional recreation of the life of Buffalo Bill Cody (Weidenfeld, 2001); Crippen (London, Penguin, 2004); The Boy In The Striped Pyjamas (London, David Fickling Books, 2006, shortlisted for the Ottakar’s Children’s Book Prize and which was filmed under the same title by Mark Herman); Mutiny On The Bounty: A Novel (London, Doubleday, 2008); Noah Barleywater Runs Away (David Fickling, 2010); The Absolutist (Doubleday, 2011); and A History of Loneliness (London, Transworld, 2014/New York, Farrar, Straus and Giroux, 2015).

He lives in Dublin.

John Boyne’s Website
John Boyne at The National Library of Ireland