Irish Writers Online http://www.irishwriters-online.com a compendium of Irish writers Mon, 08 Feb 2016 10:48:42 +0000 en-US hourly 1 Wall Ryan, Breda http://www.irishwriters-online.com/wall-ryan-breda/ Sat, 30 Jan 2016 11:25:16 +0000 http://www.irishwriters-online.com/?p=5719 Breda Wall Ryan. Image source bredawallryan.comBreda Wall Ryan grew up on a farm in Co Waterford. Her poetry and fiction have been published widely. A Pushcart and Forward Prize nominee, she won the Gregory O’Donoghue International Poetry Competition, 2015 for ‘Self Portrait in the Convex Bulge of a Hare’s Eye’, which is the title poem of her first collection, In a Hare’s Eye (Connamara, Doire...

Source

]]>
Clancy, Sarah http://www.irishwriters-online.com/clancy-sarah/ Sat, 23 Jan 2016 11:28:55 +0000 http://www.irishwriters-online.com/?p=5691 Sarah Clancy is a page and performance poet from Galway.Sarah Clancy. Image source Salmon Poetry Her collections are Stacey and the Mechanical Bull (Lapwing Press, Belfast, 2011);Thanks for Nothing, Hippies (Cliffs of Moher, Salmon Poetry, 2012); and The Truth and Other Stories (Salmon Poetry, 2014) Along with fellow Galway poet Elaine Feeney she released a poetry CD called Cinderella Backwards...

Source

]]>
Conway, Trevor http://www.irishwriters-online.com/conway-trevor/ Sun, 03 Jan 2016 13:00:10 +0000 http://www.irishwriters-online.com/?p=5683 Trevor Conway. Image source salmonpoetry.comTrevor Conway is from Sligo. His first poetry collection is Evidence of Freewheeling (Cliffs of Moher, Salmon Poetry, 2015). Also a fiction and song writer, an album of his songs has been recorded and released, titled Morning Zoo. His website Poems in Profile profiles one poem every two weeks, with an introduction to the poem and a brief interview with...

Source

]]>
Coster, Vincent S. http://www.irishwriters-online.com/coster-vincent-s/ Fri, 13 Nov 2015 20:43:59 +0000 http://www.irishwriters-online.com/?p=5664 Vincent S Coster. Image source: authorVincent S. Coster was born in Dublin in 1976 but grew up in Bray Co. Wicklow. His poetry collections are The Folk Hero Midget (Createspace Independent Publishing 2001); There Are Words (Createspace Independent Publishing 2009); The Spirit Of Youth (Createspace Independent publishing 2012); Poems From Another Shore (Createspace Independent Publishing 2013);...

Source

]]>
Murray, Christine http://www.irishwriters-online.com/murray-christine/ Sun, 11 Oct 2015 12:53:09 +0000 http://www.irishwriters-online.com/?p=5106 Christine Murray. Image source poethead.wordpress.com Christine Murray’s chapbooks are Three Red Things (Smithereens Press, 2013); and Signature (Bone Orchard Press, 2014). Her collections are Cycles (Lapwing Press, 2013); and She (Oneiros Books, 2014). A dark tale The Blind was published by Oneiros Books in 2013. She is a graduate of Art History and English Literature, and a City and...

Source

]]>
MacDermott, Karl http://www.irishwriters-online.com/macdermott-karl/ Sun, 20 Sep 2015 13:14:57 +0000 http://www.irishwriters-online.com/?p=5624 Karl MacDermott. Image source author Karl MacDermott was born in Galway. An occasional performer, he appeared in his own one -man comedy play ‘Memoirs of a Midget’ in The Peacock on The Abbey Stage in 1989. Since then has written extensively for radio and has had comedy series’ on both RTE Radio One ‘Gone But Forgotten’, (2002) ‘Here’s Johnny’ (2007) and BBC Radio Four ‘The Mahaffys’(1998). He...

Source

]]>
Foley, Michael http://www.irishwriters-online.com/foley-michael/ Mon, 15 Jun 2015 21:43:25 +0000 http://www.irishwriters-online.com/?p=5385 Michael Foley. Image source michael-foley.netMichael Foley was born Derry in 1947. His poetry collections are Heil Hitler (Portrush, Ulsterman Publications, 1969); The Acne and the Ecstasy (Ulsterman Publications, 1973); Through the Gateless Gate (Ulsterman, 1976), True Life Love Stories (Belfast, The Blackstaff Press, 1976), The Irish Frog , Versions of Laforgue (Ulsterman, 1978), The GO...

Source

]]>
McLachlan, Nicholas http://www.irishwriters-online.com/mclachlan-nicholas/ Sun, 14 Jun 2015 22:11:43 +0000 http://www.irishwriters-online.com/?p=5498 Nicholas McLachlan. Image source salmonpoetry.ieNicholas McLachlan was born in Dublin. His debut collection is The Rain Barrel (Cliffs of Moher, Salmon Poetry, 2015). After a long career as an athlete with Donore Harriers he moved to Kerry to write. His poems have appeared in a variety of journals, anthologies, broadsheets, artist catalogues and festschrifts and he was selected for the Poetry...

Source

]]>
Lyons, Alice http://www.irishwriters-online.com/lyons-alice/ Sun, 14 Jun 2015 21:36:43 +0000 http://www.irishwriters-online.com/?p=5552 Alice Lyons. Photo alicelyons.ieAlice Lyons was born in Paterson, New Jersey in 1960 and grew up in its suburbs. Her year-long public art project in the community of Carrick-on-Shannon, County Leitrim is documented in the book Staircase Poems (Carrick-on-Shannon, The Dock, 2006). She is also author of speck: poems 2002-2009 (Belfast, Lapwing, 2015). She is the recipient of the Patrick Kavanagh...

Source

]]>
Mooney, Matt http://www.irishwriters-online.com/mooney-matt/ Sun, 14 Jun 2015 20:58:13 +0000 http://www.irishwriters-online.com/?p=5554 Matt Mooney. Photo courtesy of author Matt Mooney. Courtesy of the author[/caption]Matt Mooney was born in Kilchreest, Co Galway in 1943. His poetry collections are Droving (Listowel, Matt Mooney, 2003); Falling Apples (Original Writing, 2010); and Earth to Earth (Galway Academic Press, 2015). He has lived in Listowel since 1966. Matt Mooney at The National Library of Ireland

Source

]]>