Broderick, John

John Broderick
John Broderick. Image source
John Broderick was born in Athlone in 1924.

His novels include The Pilgrimage (London, Weidenfeld & Nicholson 1961), published in the U.S. as The Chameleons (N.Y. Ivan Obolensky, 1961); The Fugitives (London, Weidenfeld & Nicholson, 1962); Don Juaneen (London, Weidenfeld & Nicholson, 1963); The Waking of Willie Ryan (London, Weidenfeld & Nicholson, 1965); An Apology for Roses (London, Calder & Boyars, 1973); The Pride of Summer (London, Harrap, 1976); London Irish (London, Barrie & Jenkins, 1979); The Trial of Father Dillingham (London, Marion Boyars, 1982); A Prayer for Fair Weather (London, Marion Boyars, 1984); The Rose Tree (London, Marion Boyars, 1985); The Flood (London, Marion Boyars, 1987}; and The Irish Magdalen (London, Marion Boyars, 1991).

The Pilgrimage, and The Waking of Willie Ryan were published by Lilliput, Dublin, in 2004.

Many of his books also appeared in paperback editions. A number of titles were translated in to French including Le Pelerinage (Paris, Librarie Plon, 1961); Les Fugitivs (Paris, Librarie Plon, 1962); and Cite Pleine de Reves…Oh! What a beautiful city (Paris, Librarie Plon, 1974). This was later published as The Trials of Father Dillingham.

See also Something in the Head: The Life & Work of John Broderick, by Madelaine Kingston, (Dublin, The Lilliput Press, 2004); and Stimulus of Sin: Selected Writings of John Broderick, by Madelaine Kingston, (Dublin, The Lilliput Press, 2007).

John Broderick died in Bath in 1989. In 1999 Athlone UDC named a street John Broderick Street in his honour.

John Broderick at The Lilliput Press
John Broderick at The National Library of Ireland