Wall, William

William Wall was born in Cork in 1955.

William Wall
William Wall by Harry Moore www.harrymoore.net

His poetry collections are Mathematics & Other Poems* (Collins Press 1997), which won The Patrick Kavanagh Award and the Listowel Writers’ Week Collection Prize; Fahrenheit Says Nothing To Me (Dublin, Dedalus Press, 2004); and Ghost Estate (Cliffs of Moher, Salmon Poetry, 2011).

As Bill Wall, he has published a children’s trilogy, The Powder Monkey – A 1798 Story (Cork, Mercier 1996); The Slave Coast (Mercier 1997); and The Cove of Cork (Mercier, 1998).

His stories have been published widely, including in the Phoenix Book of Irish Short Stories (London, Pheonix, 1998), and are collected as No Paradiso (Brandon / Mount Eagle, 2006); and Hearing Voices Seeing Things (Inverin, Co Galway, Doire Press, 2016).

His novels for adults are Alice Falling (London, Sceptre, 2000/New York, Norton, 2000); Minding Children (Sceptre 2001); The Map of Tenderness (Sceptre, 2002); and This is the Country (Sceptre, 2005), which was long-listed for the Man Booker Prize.

He lives in Cork.

William Wall’s Website
William Wall at Doire Press
William Wall at Salmon Poetry
William Wall at Sceptre/Hodder & Stoughton
Bill Wall at Mercier

William Wall at The National Library of Ireland