Wall, Mervyn

Mervyn Wall
Mervyn Wall. cover of book by Robert Hogan. Image source amazon.com

Mervyn Wall was born in Dublin in 1908.

His main works include the novels The Unfortunate Fursey (London, the Pilot Press, 1946/New York, Crown Publishers, 1947); The Return of Fursey (London, The Pilot Press, 1948); Leaves for the Burning (London, Methuen, 1952/New York, Devin-Adair, 1952); No Trophies Raise (Metheun, 1956); Hermitage (Dublin, The Wolfhound Press, 1982); and The Garden of Echoes (Newark, Proscenium Press, 1982/Dublin, Raven Arts Press, 1988). He published one collection of short stories, A Flutter of Wings (Dublin, The Talbot Press, 1974).

His plays include Alarm Among the Clerks (1940; Procenium Press,1982); and The Lady in the Twilight (Proscenium Press, 1971).

He also published a local history volume, Forty Foot Gentlemen Only (Dublin, Allen Figgis, 1962).

He was secretary of The Irish Arts Council/An Chomhairle Ealaíon from 1957-75.
His novel Leaves for the Burning was chosen as Best European Novel of the Year, 1952.
A member of Aosdána, he lived in Dublin, where he died in 1997.

Mervyn Wall at Ricorso
Mervyn Wall at The National Library of Ireland