Troy, Una

Una Troy
Una Troy. Image source

Una Troy was born in 1910 in Fermoy, Co Cork.

She began her writing career under the name of Elizabeth Connor, and her novels from this period are Mount Prospect (London, Methuen, 1936/US, No House of Peace, 1937), which was banned in Ireland; and Dead Star’s Light (Methuen, 1938).

In 1940 she adapted Mount Prospect for the stage, winning the Shaw Prize from the Abbey Theatre, Dublin, where it was successfully produced. She continued to write for the Abbey Theatre, producing three more plays: Swans and Geese (1941), Apple A Day (1942), and Dark Road (1947), which was based on her novel Dead Star’s Light.

Beginning in the mid-fifties she published all her work as Una Troy, producing fifteen novels, published in both London and America. They include We Are Seven (London, Heinemann, 1955); Maggie (Heinemann, 1958 [US, published as Miss Maggie and the Doctor]); The Workhouse Graces (Heinemann, 1960/US, published as Graces of Ballykeen); The Other End of the Bridge (Heinemann, 1960); Esmond (London, Hodder and Stoughton, 1962); The Brimstone Halo (London?, Henry Hornbuth, 1965/US, The Prodigal Father); The Benefactors (London, Hale, 1969); The Castle Nobody Wanted (Hale, 1970); Tiger Puss (Hale, 1970); Stop Press (Hale, 1971); Doctor Go Home (Hale, 1973); Out Of Everywhere (Hale, 1976); Caught in the Furze (Hale, 1977); A Sack of Gold (Hale, 1979); So True a Fool(Hale, 1981/US, Dutton).

Her novel We Are Seven was adapted as the film She Didn’t Say No, for which she was the co-writer. The film was England’s official entry in the Brussels World Film Festival in 1958, and was banned in Ireland.
Her novel Fly By These Nets is unpublished in English but is published posthumously in German as Das Meer ist Musik (Deutscher Taschenbuch Verlag, Munich, 2001).

She died in 1993.

Ann M. Butler’s Una Troy website

Una Troy at The National Library of Ireland