Smith, Sydney Bernard

Sydney Bernard Smith
Sydney Bernard Smith. Image source

Sydney Bernard Smith was born in Glasgow in 1936 and raised in Portstewart, Co Derry.
His work has been broadcast on RTÉ, BBC and Channel 4 (UK), and staged in Ireland, at the Edinburgh Festival Fringe and in the US.
His poetry collections include Girl With Violin (The Dolmen Press [Poetry Ireland Editions 3], Dublin 1968); Priorities (Raven Arts Press, Dublin 1979); Sensualities (Raven, 1981); Scurrilities (Raven 1981), and New and Selected Poems (Raven, 1984).
His plays include Sherca (1976, published Newark, Del, Proscenium Press, 1979); Don Bosco, Grainne and the Dole (1977); The Impertinence of being Frank (1978); The Illaunapsppie Triangle (1978); Houseparty (1979); Swim Away Babies (1984); On Course for Brazil (1985); How to Roast a Strasbourg Goose ( Dublin Theatre Festival, 1985); Up for Bloomsday (1985); The 2nd Grand Confabulation of Drum Ceat (Dublin Theatre Festival,Andrews Lane Theatre, 1989); Reason not the Need (1992); and The Shaming of the True (1995).
He has published one novel, Flannery (Dublin, Odell & Adair, 1991). A second, The Book of Shannow, has been mostly published in literary magazines.
A member of Aosdána, he died in 2008.

Sydney Bernard Smith’s Storefront

Sydney Bernard Smith at Irish Playography

Sydney Bernard Smith at The National Library of Ireland