O’Sullivan, Michael

Michael O'Sullivan
Michael O’Sullivan. Image source: author

Michael O’Sullivan was born in Cork City in 1959.

His collections of poetry include The Physics of Parting (Indiana, Wyndham Hall Press/Cloverdale Library, 1993); Mornings of the Oresteia, New & Selected Poems 1978-2008 (Belfast, Lapwing Publications, 2008); and The Judge Who Sentenced You to Your Own Destiny (Lapwing Publications, 2008).

His work has won many national and international awards, including The American Cloverdale Prize for Poetry, 1993; and The Irish Universities Prize, 1989.

His 29 minute film Stranger in the House, which he wrote and directed, won The Festival Director’s Prize at the Irish International Film Festival, 2010.

He is a former Writer-in-Residence with Filmbase in Dublin, and with the Cork Film Centre.


29. Festival Directors Choice STRANGER IN THE HOUSE Michael O’Sullivan
Uploaded by FILMFIEST on Sep 28, 2010

Michael O’Sullivan’s website

Stranger in the House at New Filmmakers Online

Stranger in the House Full Movie

Michael O’Sullivan at The National Library of Ireland