O’Malley, Mary

Mary O’Malley was born in 1954 in Connemara, Co Galway.

Mary O'Malley
Mary O'Malley. Image www.munsterlit.ie

Her collections are A Consideration of Silk (Galway, Salmon Poetry, 1990); Where the Rocks Float (Salmon, 1993); The Knife in the Wave, (Cliffs of Moher, Co. Clare, Salmon Publishing, 1997); Asylum Road (Salmon Publishing, 2001); The Boning Hall (Manchester, Carcanet Press, 2002); A Perfect V (Carcanet Press, 2006); Valparaiso (Carcanet Press, 2012); and Playing the Octopus (Carcanet Press, 2016).

She received a Hennessey Award in 1990, a Lawrence O’Shaughnessy Award in 2009, and is a member of Aosdána.

She lives in Connemara.

Mary O’Malley at Carcanet

Mary O’Malley at The National Library of Ireland