O’Loughlin, Michael

Michael O'Loughlin
Michael O'Loughlin. Image source dublinquarterly.ie

Michael O’Loughlin was born in Dublin in 1958.

His poetry collections are Stalingrad: The Street Dictionary (Dublin, Raven Press, 1980); Atlantic Blues (Dublin, Raven Arts Press, 1982); The Diary of a Silence (Raven Arts Press, 1985); Another Nation, New & Selected Poems (Dublin, New Island Books, 1994/UK Arc Publications, 1996); In This Life (New Island Books, 2011); and Poems 1980-2015 (New Island Books, 2017).

He has also published a collection of short stories, The Inside Story (Raven Arts Press, 1999); a critical essay, After Kavanagh: Patrick Kavanagh and the Discourse of Contemporary Irish Poetry (Raven Arts Press, 1985); and his translation of the Dutch poet Gerrit Achterberg’s selected poems, Hidden Weddings (Raven Arts Press, 1987).

He lived for many years in continental Europe and now lives in Dublin.

Michael O’Loughlin reading at the White House, limerick

Uploaded by whitehousepoets on Aug 30, 2007

Michael O’Loughlin at The Parlour Review

Michael O’Loughlin at The National Library of Ireland