O’Grady, Desmond

Desmond O’Grady was born in Limerick in 1935, and spent many years living in Paris, Rome, Cairo and Alexandria.

Desmond O'Grady
Desmond O'Grady. Image AlexMed

His collections include Chords and Orchestrations (Limerick, 1956); Reilly (London, 1961); Separazoni (Rome, 1965); The Dark Edge of Europe (London, MacGibbon & Kee, 1967); The Dying Gaul (MacGibbon & Kee, 1968); Hellas (Dublin 1971); Separations (Dublin 1973); Stations (Cairo 1976); Sing Me Creation (Dublin, The Gallery Press, 1977); The Headgear of the Tribe (The Gallery Press, 1979); The Skaldcrane’s Nest (The Gallery Press, 1979); Alexandria Notebook (Dublin 1989); Tipperary (Galway, Salmon Poetry, 1991); My Fields This Springtime (Belfast, The Lapwing Press, 1993); The Road Taken, Poems 1956-1996 (Salzburg, Poetry Salzburg, 1996); The Wandering Celt (Dublin, The Dedalus Press, 2001); and On My Way (The Dedalus Press, 2006).

His translations include Off Licence (Dublin 1968); The Gododdin (Dublin, The Dolmen Press, 1977); A Limerick Rake (Dublin, The Gallery Press, 1978); Grecian Glances (Cambridge MA 1981); The Seven Arab Odes (London, Agenda, 1980); Ten Modern Arab Poets (Dublin 1992); Alternative Manners (Alexandria 1993); Trawling Tradition. Translations 1954 – 1994 (Poetry Salsburg, 1994); and CP Cavafy, Selected Poems (Dublin, Dedalus, 1999).
Wolfgang Görtschacher & Andreas Schachermayr have edited The Wide World. A Desmond O’Grady Casebook. With New Poems 2003 by Desmond O’Grady (Salsburg Poetry, 2003).

In 1960 he was a founder member of the European Community of Writers in Rome.
A member of Aosdána, he died in Co Cork on August 25, 2014.

Desmond O’Grady – The Wandering Celt
Published on 8 Sep 2012
by Limerick Writers Centre
Video on the life of Desmond O’Grady directed by Adam Wyeth.

Desmond O’Grady at Bibliotheca Alexandrina

Desmond O’Grady at The National Library of Ireland