O’Flaherty, Liam

Liam O’Flaherty was born at Gort na gCapall, Inishmór, the largest of the Aran Islands, in 1896. He wrote in English and Irish.

Liam O'Flaherty
Liam O'Flaherty. Image NYPL Digital Gallery Henry W. and Albert A. Berg Collection of English and American Literature. Public Domain. wikicommons

His main works include the novels Thy Neighbour’s Wife (London, Jonathan Cape, 1923); The Black Soul (Jonathan Cape, 1924); The Informer (Jonathan Cape, 1925), which was made into a film of the same name by John Ford; The Assassin (Jonathan Cape, 1928); Skerret (1932); Shame the Devil (1934); and Famine (1937).

His short story collections include The Short Stories of Liam O’Flaherty (1937); Two Lovely Beasts and Other Stories (London, Victor Gollancz, 1948); Dúil (Baile Átha Cliath, Sairseal agus Dill, 1953); and The Pedlar’s Revenge and Other Stories (1976).

He also published The Life of Tim Healy (Jonathan Cape, 1927).

His books have been re-issued in paperback by The Wolfhound Press of Dublin. He was a member of Aosdána, and died in 1984.

Liam O’Flaherty at amazon.co.uk
Liam O’Flaherty at amazon.com

for more detailed information see The Unofficial Liam O’Flahterty website

The Informer IMDb

Trailer of The Informer, directed by John Ford, 1935

Liam O’Flaherty at The National Library of Ireland

1 thought on “O’Flaherty, Liam

Comments are closed.