O’Callaghan, Julie

Julie O’Callaghan was born in Chicago in 1954.

Julie O'Callaghan
Julie O'Callaghan. Image Bloodaxe Books

Her collections of poetry for adults include Edible Anecdotes (Mountrath, Dolmen, 1983), which was a Poetry Book Society Recommendation; What’s What (Newcastle Upon Tyne, Bloodaxe Books, 1991), a Poetry Book Society Choice; No Can Do (Bloodaxe Books, 2000), a Poetry Book Society Recommendation, for which she was awarded the Michael Hartnett Poetry Prize; and a chapbook, Problems (Boston, Pressed Wafer, 2005).
Her new and selected poems is Tell Me This Is Normal (Bloodaxe Books, 2008), is a Poetry Book Society Recommendation.

Her poems for older children have appeared in numerous anthologies in the UK, including the New Oxford Book of Children’s Verse, the New Faber Book of Children’s Verse and in school texts in Ireland, England, and Canada.
Her children’s poems are collected in Bright Lights Blaze Out (Oxford, Oxford University Press, 1986); Cambridge Contemporary Poets 2 (Cambridge, UK, Cambridge University Press, 1992), and in three full-length collections, Taking My Pen for a Walk (London, Orchard, 1988); Two Barks (Bloodaxe Books, 1998); and The Book of Whispers (London, Faber & Faber, 2006).

She was awarded Irish Arts Council Bursaries in 1985, 1990, and 1998 and is a member of Aosdána.

She has lived in Ireland since 1974, and is now resident in Co Kildare.

Julie O’Callaghan at Bloodaxe Books

Julie O’Callaghan at The National Library of Ireland