Ní Dhuibhne, Éilís

Éilís Ní Dhuibhne was born in Dublin in 1954.

Éilís Ní Dhuibhne
Éilís Ní Dhuibhne. Image source writersweek.ie

Her novels are The Bray House (Dublin, Attic Press, 1990); Singles (Dublin, Attic Press, 1992); The Dancers Dancing (Belfast, The Blackstaff Press, 1999/London Headline Review, 2001),which was shortlisted for the 2000 Orange Prize; and Fox, Swallow, Scarecrow (The Blackstaff Press, 2007); and Dún an Airgid (Dublin, Cois Life, 2008), which was awarded the Oireachtas Prize for Novel in Irish.

She has published five story collections, including Blood & Water (The Attic Press, 1988); Eating Women is Not Recommended (The Attic Press); The Inland Ice and other stories (Blackstaff Press, 1997); Pale Gold of Alaska And Other Stories (Blackstaff Press 2000/London, Headline Review, 2001); and The Shelter of Neighbours (Blackstaff Press, 2012).

Her novels in Irish are Dúnmharú sa Daingean (Dublin, Clo Cois Life, 2000), which was awarded the Oireachtas Prize for a Novel in Irish; and Dordán (Clo Cois Life, 2011).

Her books for children include The Uncommon Cormorant (Dublin, Poolbeg Press, 1990). As Elizabeth O’Hara her books for children are The Hiring Fair (Dufour Editions, 1993) which was a Bisto Merit Award Winner in 1994; and Hugo and the Sunshine Girl (Learning Links, 2002).

Editor of Voices on the Wind, a collection of Irish women’s poetry, her play Dún na mBan Trí Thine was performed in the Peacock Theatre, Dublin, in 1994.

She has also published a book of two plays, Milseóg an tSamhraidh (Baile Atha Cliath, Cois Life, 1997).

A member of Aosdána, she lives in Wicklow.

Éilís Ní Dhuibhne’s website

Éilís Ní Dhuibhne at The National Library of Ireland