Morrissey, Sinéad

Sinéad Morrissey
Sinéad Morrissey. image source

Sinéad Morrissey was born in Portadown in 1972.

Her collections are There Was Fire in Vancouver (Manchester, Carcanet Press, 1996); Between Here and There (Carcanet, 2002); The State of the Prisons (Carcanet, 2005); Through the Square Window (Carcanet, 2009); and Parallax (Carcanet, 2013), for which she was awarded the T.S. Eliot Prize; and On Balance (Carcanet, 2017).

In 1990, she became the youngest recipient of The Patrick Kavanagh Award for Poetry, and has since received an Eric Gregory Award(1996); the Rupert and Eithne Strong Award (2002); a Lannan Literary Fellowship (2007), and The Irish Times/ Poetry Now Award, 2010, for Through the Square Window.

She has twice been shortlisted for the T.S. Elliot Award,before winning it in 2014, and has been Writer in Residence at Queen’s University, Belfast.

She has lived and worked in Japan and New Zealand, and now lives in Belfast.

Sinéad Morrissey at Carcanet

Sinéad Morrissey at The National Library of Ireland