Monahan, Noel

Noel Monahan
Noel Monahan. Image source

Noel Monahan was born in Granard, Co Longford.

His collections are Opposite Walls (Galway, Salmon Poetry, 1991); Snowfire (Salmon Poetry, 1995); Curse of the Birds (Cliffs of Moher, Co Clare, Salmon Publishing, 2001); The Funeral Game (Salmon Publishing, 2004); and Where the Wind Sleeps: New and Selected Poems (Salmon Publishing,2014).

In 2001 he won the SeaCat National Poetry Award, organised by Poetry Ireland. Also in 2001 he won the RTÉ P.J. O’Connor Award for his play Broken Cups. In 2002 he won the ASTI Achievements Award for his contribution to literature at home and abroad. Other awards include The Allingham Poetry Award and The Kilkenny Prize for Poetry.

He is co-editor of Windows Publications with Heather Brett and lives in Cavan.

Noel Monahan at The National Library of Ireland