Molloy, M.J.

M.J. Molloy
M.J. Molloy. Image source

M.J. Molloy was born in Co Galway in 1917.

Nine of his plays premiered at the Abbey Theatre, one in the Gaeity Theatre, and one at the John Player Theatre, all in Dublin. Three plays were produced in London, three on Broadway, New York, and many were broadcast, televised and published. He was working on The Princess of Hibernia, a full length historical play at the time of his death.

His main works include the plays The Old Road (1943); The Visiting House (1946); The King of Friday’s Men (1948); The Wood of the Whispering (1953); The Paddy Pedlar (1953); The Will and the Way (1955); Daughter from Over the Water ( 1958); A Right Rose Tree (1958); The Wooing of Duvesa (1964); The Bride of Fontebranda (1975); Petticoat Loose (1979); The Bachelor’s Daughter (1985); and The Runaways (1987).

His lecture, The Making of Folkplays, is published in Literature and Folklore: Ireland and Newfoundland (Memorial University of Newfoundland, 1977). He was a member of Aosdána, and he died in 1994.

M.J. Molloy at

M.J. Molloy at Princess Grace Library

M.J. Molloy at The National Library of Ireland