McLaverty, Michael

Michael McLaverty
Michael McLaverty. Image source

Michael McLaverty was born in July, 1904, at Carrrickmacross, Co. Monaghan, and was partly raised on Rathlin Island, Co. Antrim, before moving to Belfast, where he taught for many years.

His novels are Call My Brother Back (London & New York, Longmans, Green 1939); Lost Fields (New York & Toronto, Longmans, Green 1941); In This Thy Day (London, Jonathan Cape/ New York, Macmillan 1945); The Three Brothers (Jonathan Cape 1948); Truth in the Night (New York, Macmillan, 1951/London, Jonathan Cape, 1952); School For Hope (Jonathan Cape 1954); The Choice (Jonathan Cape 1958); The Brightening Day (New York, Macmillan 1965); In Quiet Places (Dublin, Poolbeg, 1989).

He also published one volume of children’s fiction, Billy Boogles and the Brown Cow (Poolbeg 1982).

His collections of short stories are The White Mare and Other Stories (New York, Devin-Adair, 1947); The Game Cock and Other Stories (London, Jonathan Cape/ New York, Devin-Adair, 1947); The Road to the Shore and Other Stories (Dublin, Poolbeg, 1976); Collected Short Stories (Dublin: Poolbeg, edited by David Marcus, 1979); Collected Short Stories, edited by with an afterword Sophia Hillan, and Introduction by Seamus Heaney, and wood engravings by Barbara Childs (Belfast, Blackstaff Press 2002).

The Michael McLaverty Short Story Award aims to find the best new short story by an Irish writer.

He died in 1992.

Michael McLaverty at

Michael McLaverty at the Digital Literary Atlas of Ireland, 1922–1949

Michael McLaverty at The National Library of Ireland