McGuinness, Frank

Frank McGuinness
Frank McGuinness. Image source

Frank McGuinness was born in Buncrana, Co Donegal, in 1953.

His plays include The Factory Girls (1982); Baglady/Ladybag (1985); Observe the Sons of Ulster Marching Towards the Somme (Dublin, The Abbey Theatre, 1985); Innocence (1986); Carthaginians (1988); Mary and Lizzie (Stratford-upon-Avon, Royal Shakespeare Theatre, 1989); The Bread Man (Dublin, The Gate Theatre, 1990); Someone Who’ll Watch Over Me (The Abbey Theatre, 1992); The Bird Sanctuary (The Abbey Theatre, 1994); Mutabilitie (London, Royal National Theatre, 1997); Dolly West’s Kitchen (The Abbey Theatre, 1999); Gates of Gold (Gate Theatre, 2002); Speaking like Magpies (Royal Shakespeare Theatre, 2005); There Came A Gypsy Riding (London, Almeida Theatre, 2007); and The Hanging Gardens (The Abbey Theatre, 2013).

His adapted work includes Yerma (Lorca, 1987); Rosmersholm (Ibsen, 1987); Peer Gynt (Ibsen, Dublin, The Gate Theatre, 1988); Three Sisters (Chekov, 1990); and The Threepenny Opera (Brecht/Weil, 1991). He has also written for television, including Scout (BBC, 1987); and The Hen House (BBC, 1989).

His awards include several for Observe the Sons of Ulster Marching Towards the Somme, including The London Evening Standard Award for Most Promising Playwright; the Prix de l’Intervision and the Prix de l’Art Critique at the 1990 Prague International Television Awards for The Hen House.

His poetry collections are Booterstown (Loughcrew, Co Meath, The Gallery Press, 1994); Stone Jug (Gallery, 2003); Dulse (The Gallery Press, 2007); and In A Town of Five Thousand People (The Gallery Press, 2013).

His début novel is Arimathea (Dublin, Brandon, 2013).

He is a member of Aosdána and lives in County Dublin.

Frank McGuinness at Faber
Frank McGuinness at
Frank McGuinness at The Gallery Press
Frank McGuinness at The National Library of Ireland