McCarthy, Thomas

Thomas McCarthy
Thomas McCarthy. Image source

Thomas McCarthy was born in Cappoquin, Co Waterford in 1954.

His poetry collections nclude The First Convention ( Dublin, The Dolmen Press, 1978); The Sorrow-Garden (London, Anvil Press Poetry, 1981); The Non-Aligned Storyteller (Anvil Press Poetry, 1984); Seven Winters in Paris (Anvil Press Poetry and Dublin, Dedalus, 1989); The Lost Province (Anvil Press Poetry 1996); Mr Dineen’s Careful Parade, New & Selected Poems (Anvil Press Poetry, 1999); and The Last Geraldine Officer (Anvil Press Poetry, 2009).

His fiction includes Without Power (Poolbeg Press, 1991); and Asya and Christine (Poolbeg Press, 1992).
He has also published a memoir, The Garden of Remembrance (Dublin, New Island Books, 1998. ).
His awards include The Patrick Kavanagh Award (1977); The Alice Hunt Bartlett Prize (1981); The Annual Literary Award, American Irish Foundation (1984); and the O’Shaughnessy Poetry Award, Irish-American Cultural Institute, 1991.

He is a member of Aosdána, and lives in Cork.

Thomas McCarthy reading as part of the Poetry Ireland lunchtime reading series in association with the National Gallery of Ireland. Poetry Ireland Youtube Channel

Thomas McCarthy at MunsterLit

Thomas McCarthy at The National Library of Ireland