Mathews, Aidan

Aidan Mathews
Aidan Mathews. Image source

Aidan Mathews (var. Aidan Carl Mathews) was born in 1956 in Dublin.

His poetry collections include Windfalls (Dublin, The Dolmen Press, 1977); Minding Ruth (Loughcrew, The Gallery Press, 1983); and According to the Small Hours (London, Jonathan Cape, 1998).

His plays are The Diamond Body (Project Theatre, Dubin); Entrance, Exit (The Peacock Theatre, Dublin); and Communion (The Peacock Theatre).

He has also published three collections of stories, Adventures in a Bathyscope (Secker & Warburg, London, 1988); Lipstick on the Host (Secker & Warburg, 1992); Charlie Chaplin’s Wishbone and Other Stories (Dublin, The Lilliput Press, 2014); and a novel, Muesli at Midnight (Secker & Warburg, 1990).

He has edited Immediate Man: Cuimhni Ar Chearbhall Ó Dalaigh, a tribute to one of Ireland’s former Presidents (Buckinghamshire, UK, Colin Smythe, 1983).

His awards include The Irish Times Award, 1974; The Patrick Kavanagh Award in 1976; the Macauley Fellowship in 1978-9 and an Academy of American Poets Award in 1982. He reached the shortlist for the first GPA Book Award in 1989.

He lives in County Dublin.

Aidan Mathews at The Lilliput Press

Aidan Mathews at The Gallery Press

Aidan Mathews at Random House (Cape)

Aidan Carl Mathews at The National Library of Ireland