Madden, Deirdre

Deirdre Madden
Deirdre Madden. Image source

Deirdre Madden was born in 1960 in County Antrim.

Her novels include Hidden Symptoms (London, Faber & Faber, 1988; USA, Atlantic Monthly Press, 1987); The Birds of the Innocent Wood (Faber & Faber, 1988); Remembering Light and Stone (Faber & Faber 1992); Nothing is Black (Faber & Faber, 1994); One by One in the Darkness (Faber & Faber, 1996); Authenticity (Faber & Faber, 2002); Molly Fox’s Birthday (Faber & Faber, 2008); and Time Present and Time Past (Faber & Faber, 2013).

Her books for children include Jasper and the Green Marvel (Faber & Faber, 2012); and Snake’s Elbows ((Faber & Faber, 2012).

Among her many awards are the Hennessey Award for Short Fiction 1979; The Rooney Prize for Irish Literature, 1987; The Somerset Maughan Award, 1989; The Kerry Ingredients Book of the Year Award, 1997; and Writer Fellow at Trinity College, Dublin, 1996-1997. One by One in the Darkness was shortlisted for the Orange Prize.

She teaches at Trinity College, Dublin and is a member of Aosdána

She lives in Dublin.

Deirdre Madden at Faber
Deirdre Madden at The National Library of Ireland