MacLaverty, Bernard

Bernard MacLaverty
Bernard MacLaverty. Image source © Jude MacLaverty

Bernard MacLaverty was born in Belfast in 1942.

His novels include Lamb (London, Jonathan Cape 1980); Cal (London, Jonathan Cape, 1983); Grace Notes (London, Jonathan Cape, 1997), which was shortlisted for the Booker Prize; and The Anatomy School (Jonathan Cape, 2001).

Both Lamb and Cal were produced as films of the same name, and for which he wrote the screenplays.
His short story collections include Secrets (Belfast, Blackstaff Press, 1977); A Time to Dance (London, Jonathan Cape, 1982); The Great Profumo (Jonathan Cape 1987);Walking the Dog and Other Stories (Jonathan Cape /Belfast, Blackstaff Press/London, Vintage, 1994); and Matters of Life and Death (Jonathan Cape, 2006).
His radio drama includes My Dear Palestrina; Secrets; No Joke, The Break, Some Surrender.
His television drama includes My Dear Palestrina; Phonefun Limited; The Daily Woman; Some Time in August; and Hostages.

He has also adapted The Real Charlotte for television.

He has won many awards, including the Scottish Arts Council Book Awards; Pharic McLaren Award for Best Script (1980); RTÉ Jacob’s Award for Best Play (1981); The Sunday Independent Award for Literature (1983); Evening Standard Award for Best Screenplay (1984); Screenplay Bronze Medal, Lucarno Film Festival (1987); Scottish Writer of the Year 1988 – McVities Prize; Irish Post Award (1989); and Society of Authors Travelling Scholarship.

He has lived in Scotland for many years and is a member of Aosdána.

Bernard MacLaverty’s website
Bernard MacLaverty at Random House
Bernard MacLaverty at The National Library of Ireland