Lysaght, Seán

Sean Lysaght
Seán Lysaght. Image source

Seán Lysaght was born in 1957 and grew up in Limerick.

In 1985 he was an award winner at the annual Patrick Kavanagh poetry festival. His collections are Noah’s Irish Ark (Dublin, The Dedalus Press, 1989); The Clare Island Survey (Loughcrew, The Gallery Press, 1991, which was nominated for The Irish Times/Aer Lingus poetry award) Scarecrow (The Gallery Press, 1998); Erris (The Gallery Press, 2002); and The Mouth of a River (The Gallery Press, 2007); Venetian Epigrams (The Gallery Press, 2008); and Selected Poems (The Gallery Press, 2010).

His non-fiction includes Robert Lloyd Praeger: The Life of a Naturalist (Dublin, Four Courts Press, 1998).
His awards include the Patrick Kavanagh award, 1985; and the O’Shaughnessy Award for Poetry, 2007.

He lives in Westport, Co Mayo.

Seán Lysaght at The Gallery Press
Seán Lysaght at The National Library of Ireland