Lynch, Brian

Brian Lynch
Brian Lynch. Image source

Brian Lynch was born in Dublin in 1945.

His novel is The Winner of Sorrow (Dublin, New Island Books, 2005), about the poet William Cowper (1731-1800).

His poetry collections include Endsville (1967); No Die Cast (Dublin, New Writers Press, 1969); Outside the Pheasantry (Gorey, Funge Arts Centre, 1974); Perpetual Star (Dublin, Raven Arts Press, 1981); Beds of Down (Raven Arts Press, 1983); Voices from the Nettleway (Raven Arts Press, 1989); Easter Snow An Island off Ireland (Bremen, die horen/Galway, Salmon Press, 1992); Playtime, Paintings by Gene Lambert Poetry by Brian Lynch (Dublin, New Island Books/RHA Gallagher Gallery, 1997); New and Renewed/Poems 1967-2004 (New Island Books, 2004); and Pity for the Wicked (New Island Books, 2005).

His translations include Paul Celan: 65 Poems, with Peter Jankowsky (Dublin, Raven Arts Press, 1985).

His play Crooked in the Car Seat (Gemini Productions, 1979) ran in the Dublin Theatre Festival.

His TV and film work includes the series Caught in a Free State (RTÉ/ Channel 4, 1984), which won a Jacobs Award for script, and Best Drama Award at the Banff International TV Festival, Canada; and Love and Rage, which was filmed by Cathal Black (Cathal Black Films, 1998). Harveys’s Award Nomination (1980); and Hennessy Award for first published short story.

Also an art critic, he has published Tony O’Malley (London, The Scolar Press/Kilkenny, The Butler Gallery, 1996 [third edition, New Island Books, 2004]).

His miscellaneous awards include a Hennessey Award for first short story (1983). He is a member of Aosdána, and lives in Dublin.

Brian Lynch’s website

Brian Lynch at The National Library of Ireland