Lucy, Seán

Unfinished Sequence
Unfinished Sequence. Image source

Seán Lucy was born in India(?) in 1931.

His first selection of poems was published in Five Irish Poets (Cork, Mercier Press, 1970).

His solo collection is Unfinished Sequence (Dublin, Wolfhound Press, 1979).

His critical work includes T.S. Eliot and the Idea of Tradition (1960). He has edited Irish Poets in English The Thomas Davis Lectures of 1972 (Mercier, 1973); and Goldsmith, the Gentle Master The Thomas Davis Lecture 1983 (Cork University Press, 1984 & 1995).

A former Professor of Modern English at University College Cork, in his latter years he lived in Chicago, where he died in July 2001.

Seán Lucy at The National Library of Ireland