Longley, Michael

Michael Longley
Michael Longley. Image source enitharmon.co.uk

Michael Longley was born in Belfast in 1939.Longley

His books of poetry include No Continuing City (London, Macmillan, 1969, US Dufour Editions 1969); An Exploded View (London, Victor Gollancz, 1973), Man Lying on a Wall (Victor Gollancz, 1976); The Echo Gate (London, Secker and Warburg, 1979); Poems 1963-1983 (U.K., Salamander Press; Loughcrew, Ireland, The Gallery Press, 1985); Poems 1963-1980 (US, Wake Forest University Press, 1981); Gorse Fires (Secker & Warburg, Wake Forest Press, 1991), for which he was awarded the 1991 Whitbread Prize for Poetry; The Ghost Orchid (London Jonathan Cape, 1995; Wake Forest University Press, 1996); Broken Dishes (Belfast, The Lagan Press, 1998); Selected Poems (Jonathan Cape, 1998/Wake Forest University Press, 1998); The Weather in Japan (Jonathan Cape, 2000/Wake Forest University Press, 2000), for which he received the 2001 Irish Times Irish Literature Prize for Poetry; Snow Water (Jonathan Cape, 2004); Collected Poems (Jonathan Cape, 2006/US, Wake Forest University Press, 2007); and A Hundred Doors (Jonathan Cape, 2011).

He has also published an autobiographical work, Tuppeny Stung (Belfast, Lagan Press, 1994).

He is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature, a member of Aosdána, and of the Cultural Traditions Group, which promotes acceptance and understanding of cultural diversity in Northern Ireland.

He lives in Belfast.

Michael Longley at Poetry Archive
Michael Longley at Culture Northern Ireland
Michael Longley at The National Library of Ireland