Lewis, C.S.

C.S. Lewis
C.S. Lewis. Image source narnia.wikia.com

Clive Staples Lewis was born in Belfast in 1898.

His poetry includes Spirits in Bondage ([psued. Clive Hamilton,] 1919); Dymer (London, J. M. Dent/New York, E. P. Dutton & Co. 1926; republished 1950); Narrative Poems (London, ed. Walter Hooper, Geoffrey Bles, 1969); and Poems (London, ed. Walter Hooper, Geoffrey Bles, 1964, 1977).

His autobiographical works include A Grief Observed (London, Faber & Faber 1961); Surprised by Joy: The Shape of My Early Life (1955).

His children’s fiction includes The Horse and His Boy (1954); The Last Battle: A Story for Children (1956); The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe: A Story for Children (London, Geoffrey Bles, 1950); The Magician’s Nephew (1955); Prince Caspian: The Return to Narnia (Geoffrey Bles, 1951); The Voyage of the Dawn Treader (Geoffrey Bles, 1952); The Silver Chair (Geoffrey Bles, 1953); The Chronicles of Narnia in 7 volumes [The Magician’s Nephew; The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe; The Horse and His Boy; Prince Caspian; The Voyage of the Dawn Treader; The Silver Chair; The Last Battle] (New York, HarperCollins 1994, illustrated by Pauline Baynes).
His adult fiction includes Out of the Silent Planet (London, Bodley Head, 1938); The Great Divorce (London, Geoffrey Bles 1946); Perelandra (London, Jonathan Cape, 1943, reissued as Voyage to Venus); The Screwtape Letters (1942); That Hideous Strength: A Modern Fairy-Tale for Grown-Ups (London, Jonathan Lane,1945); Till We Have Faces: A Myth Retold (1956); and The Dark Tower and Other Stories (London, Collins, 1977, edited by Walter Hopper).

His large body of non-fiction includes The Allegory of Love: A Study in Medieval Tradition (1936); The Problem of Pain (1940); The Abolition of Man (1943); Beyond Personality: The Christian Idea of God (1944); Miracles: A Preliminary Study (1947); Mere Christianity (1952); English Literature in the Sixteenth Century, Excluding Drama (1954); Reflections on the Psalms (1958); An Experiment in Criticism (1961); The Four Loves (1960); The Discarded Image: An Introduction to Medieval and Renaissance Literature (1964); Studies in Words (1960); Letters to Malcolm (1964); and Spenser’s Images of Life (ed. by Alasdair Fowler, 1967).

In his latter years he married Joy Gresham, an American admirer who died tragically from bone cancer. This relationship was described in Surprised by Joy, and was filmed as Shadowlands, starring Anthony Hopkins as Lewis in 1993.

He was appointed Professor of Medieval and Renaissance Literature at Cambridge, in 1954, and died in 1963.

C.S. Lewis Foundation
C.S. Lewis at IMDb
C.S. Lewis at The National Library of Ireland