Lavin, Mary

Mary Lavin
Mary Lavin. Image source

Mary Lavin was born in Massachusetts, USA, in 1912, but she lived in Ireland from 1921, at first in Athenry Co Galway, and later in Meath and Dublin.

Her short story collections are Tales from Bective Bridge (Boston, Little, Brown, 1942; London, Michael Joseph, 1943; Dublin: Poolbeg Press, 1978; re-issued Dublin, Town and Country House, 1996); The Long Ago and other Stories (London, Michael Joseph, 1944); The Becker Wives and Other Stories (Michael Joseph, 1946; New York, New American Library, 1971); At Sallygap and Other Stories ( Boston, Little, Brown, 1947); A Single Lady and Other Stories (Michael Joseph, 1951); The Patriot Son and other Stories (Michael Joseph, 1956); A Likely Story, (New York, Macmillan 1957; Dublin: Dolmen Press 1967); Selected Stories ( New York: Macmillan 1959); The Great Wave and Other Stories (London, Macmillan, 1961; New York, Macmillan 1961); The Stories of Mary Lavin (London, Constable, Vol. 1, 1964, 1970; Vol 2, 1974); In the Middle of the Fields and other Stories (Constable, 1967; New York, Macmillan, 1969); Happiness and other Stories (Constable, 1969; Boston, Houghton Mifflin, 1970); Collected Stories (Houghton Mifflin, 1971); The Second Best Children in the World (London, Longmans Young Books, 1972; Boston, Houghton Mifflin, 1973); The Shrine and Other Stories (Constable, 1977); A Memory and Other Stories (Constable, 1972; Houghton Mifflin, 1973); The Shrine and Other Stories (Constable 1977); Selected Stories (New York, Penguin Books, 1981); The Stories of Mary Lavin, Vol. III (Constable 1985); A Family Likeness and Other Stories (Constable, 1985); and In a Café (Dublin, Town House and Country House, 1995). Her novels are The House in Clewe Street (Michael Joseph, 1945; Little, Brown, 1945); and Mary O’Grady (Michael Joseph, 1950; Little, Brown, 1950).

Her awards included The James Tait Black Memorial Prize (1943); Guggenheim Fellowships (1959 and 1961); The Katherine Mansfield Prize (International P.E.N) (1961); D.Litt. (hon. causa), UCD (1968); The Ella Lynam Cabot Award, Harvard University (1972); Éire Society Gold Medal, Boston (1974); Gregory Medal, Irish Academy of Letters (1975); The Irish American Foundation Literary Award (1979); and The Allied Irish Banks Literary Award (1981). An Arrow in Flight: A Tribute to Mary Lavin at 80, was broadcast by RTÉ in May 1991.

She was a member of Aosdána, and was elected Saoi, its highest honour, in 1992.

She died in 1996.

Mary Lavin at Special Collections UCD
Mary Lavin at The National Library of Ireland