Kiely, Kevin

Kevin Kiely
Kevin Kiely. image source

Kevin Kiely was born in Co Down in 1953.

His novels are Quintesse (Dublin, Co-Op Books, 1982/New York St Martin’s Press, 1985); Mere Mortals (Dublin, Poolbeg Press, 1989); The Welkinn Complex (Florida, Number One Son Publishing, 2011).

His poems are collected in the sequence Plainchant for a Sundering (Belfast, Lapwing Press, 2001); and Breakfast with Sylvia (Co Down, Lapwing Press, 2005).

His authorised biography of Francis Stuart is published as Francis Stuart: Artist and Outcast (Dublin, Liffey Press, 2007/Pa, Dufour, 2008).

His plays for radio include Multiple Indiscretions (RTÉ 1997); and Children of No Importance (RTÉ 2000).

He has published a series of novels for young people including A Horse Called El Dorado (Dublin, O’Brien Press, 2005); and SOS Lusitania (O’Brien Press, 2013), which received a Bisto Honour Award, 2006.

His awards include Literary Bursaries from The Arts Council of Ireland/An Chomhairle Ealaíon, and the Patrick Kavanagh Poetry Fellowship, 2006. He was an Honorary Fellow-in-Writing at the University of Iowa from the International Writing Programme with Gary Snyder, Galway Kinell, Marvin Bell and Paul Engle.

He has been editor of New Writing at Books Ireland, and has been a Fulbright Scholar in Residence Boise State University, Idaho, 2007-2008.

Most recently he has been Professor of Irish Literature, University of Idaho (Moscow), USA 2008-2009.

He lives in Dublin.

Kevin Kiely’s website
Kevin Kiely at The National Library of Ireland