Kelly, Maeve

Maeve Kelly
Maeve Kelly. Image source Kennys Irish Writers

Maeve Kelly was born in County Clare in 1930.

Her short stories have been collected as A Life of Her Own (Dublin, Poolebeg, 1976); and Orange Horses (London, Michael Joseph, 1990.

Her novels are Necessary Treasons (Michael Joseph, 1985); Florries Girls (Belfast, Blackstaff Press, 1991); and Alice in Thunderland (Fairytales for Feminists) (Dublin, Attic Press, 1993).

Her poetry is collected as Resolution (Blackstaff, 1986); and A Last Loving: Collected Poems (Dublin, Arlen House, 2016).

She won a Hennessey Award in 1972 for the title story of A Life of Her Own.

She lives in Limerick.

Journey Home Blog
Maeve Kelly at The National Library of Ireland