Joyce, Trevor

Trevor Joyce. Portrait by Eva Pollert
Trevor Joyce.
Portrait by Eva Pollert

Trevor Joyce was born in Dublin in 1947.

Co-founder and co-editor (with Michael Smith) of New Writers’ Press in 1967, and founding editor of The Lace Curtain, his collections include Sole Glum Trek (Dublin, New Writers Press, 1967); Watches (NWP, 1969); Pentahedron (NWP, 1972); The Poems of Sweeney Peregrine (NWP, 1976); and stone floods (NWP, 1995), which was nominated for The Irish Times Poetry Prize.

More recent work includes Hellbox (London, Form Books, 1998); Syzygy (Wild Honey Press, 1998); and Without Asylum (Wild Honey Press, 1999); Hopeful Monsters (Wild Honey Press 1999). These were collected in With the first dream of fire they hunt the cold: A Body of Work 1996/2000 (New Writers Press/Shearsman Books, 2001).

What’s In Store (Gig, 2008) collected work from the preceding eight years. It was followed by The Immediate Future (Default 2013) and Rome’s Wreck (Cusp Books 2014). His Selected Poems, 1967-2014 was published by Shearsman Books in 2015, along with a companion volume of Essays on the Poetry of Trevor Joyce, edited by Niamh O’Mahony. His latest collection is Fastness (Miami University Press, 2017).

He has also published an audio CD, Red Noise of Bones (Coelocanth & Wild Honey Press, 2001); and a volume of translations Courts of Air and Earth (Shearsman Books, 2008).

Founder, and director of SoundEye, the Cork International Poetry Festival since 1997, he has been a recipient of a Bursary in Literature from the Irish Arts Council (2001), and a Fulbright Scholarship (2002-03). In 2009 he served as Judith E. Wilson Poetry Fellow to the University of Cambridge.

A member of Aosdána, he lives in Cork.

Trevor Joyce at Shearsman
Wild Honey Press
Trevor Joyce at The National Library of Ireland