Hughes, Declan

Declan Hughes
Declan Hughes. Image source

Declan Hughes was born in Dublin.

A long time writer-in-residence with the Rough Magic Theatre Company, his plays include I Can’t Get Started (Dublin Theatre Festival, 1990); Digging for Fire (Dublin Theatre Festival, 1991); New Morning; Hallowe’en Night; New Morning (London, Bush Theatre/Dublin, Rough Magic Theatre Company, 1993); Twenty Grand (Dublin, The Abbey Theatre, 1998); and Shiver (Rough Magic Theatre Company, 2003). His adaptations include The Woman in White (Rough Magic, 1996, after the novel by Wilkie Collins); Love and a Bottle (Rough Magic, 1991, after George Farquhar); Tartuffe (The Abbey Theatre, 2000, after Moliére).

He has also directed a number of plays, including Talbot’s Box; The Caucasian Chalk Circle; The Silver Tassie; and Bat the Father, Rabbit the Son.

His novels are The Wrong Kind of Blood (London, John Murray, 2007); The Colour of Blood (John Murray, 2007); The Price of Blood (John Murray, 2008); and The Dying Breed (John Murray, 2008).

He was the joint winner of the 1990 Stewart Parker New Playwright Award, has been writer in association with the Abbey Theatre, and remains an artistic associate of Rough Magic.

He lives in Dublin.

Declan Hughes’ Website

Declan Hughes at IrishPlayography

Rough Magic

Declan Hughes at The National Library of Ireland