Heaney, Seamus

Seamus Heaney
Seamus Heaney. Image source nobelprize.org

Seamus Heaney was born in Derry in 1939.

His bibliography is vast, his work encompassing poetry, criticism, theatre and translation.

His major poetry collections are
Death of a Naturalist (London, Faber and Faber, 1966); Door Into the Dark (London, Faber and Faber, 1969); Wintering Out (London, Faber and Faber, 1972); North (London, Faber and Faber, 1975); Field Work ( London & Boston : Faber and Faber, 1979); Selected Poems, 1965-1975 (London & Boston, Faber and Faber, 1980); Poems, 1965-1975 (New York, Farrar, Straus, and Giroux, 1980); Station Island (London/Boston, Faber and Faber, 1984); The Haw Lantern (New York, Farrar, Straus, and Giroux, 1987); New Selected Poems, 1966-1987 (London, Faber and Faber, 1990); Seeing Things (New York, Farrar, Straus, and Giroux, 1991); The Spirit Level (London/Boston, Faber and Faber, 1996); Opened Ground : Poems, 1966-1996 (Faber, 1998; Farrar, Straus and Giroux, 1999); Electric Light (Faber, 2001); District and Circle (Faber & Faber, Farrar, Straus and Giroux, 2006); and Human Chain (Faber & Faber, Farrar, Straus and Giroux, 2010);

His prose includes Preoccupations : Selected Prose, 1968-1978 (New York,Farrar, Straus, and Giroux, 1980); The Government of the Tongue : the 1986 T.S. Eliot Memorial Lectures and Other Critical Writings (London, Faber and Faber, 1988); and The Redress of Poetry : An Inaugural Lecture Delivered Before the University of Oxford on 24 October, 1989 (Oxford, Clarendon Press ; New York, Oxford University Press, 1990).

As well as translations from Dante in various volumes, and versions from the Polish of Jan Kochanowski, published as Laments (London, Faber & Faber 1992?), he has published Sweeney Astray : A Version from the Irish (Derry, Field Day Theatre Company, 1983).

He has published two plays, The Cure at Troy : A Version of Sophocles’ Philoctetes (London, Faber and Faber in association with Field Day, 1990); and a translation, The Burial at Thebes:Sophocles’ Antigone (Faber & Faber, 2004); Along with Ted Hughes, he edited The Rattle Bag (London & Boston, Faber and Faber, 1982).

He was awarded the Nobel Prize for Literature in 1995.

A member of Aosdána, he lived in Dublin where he died suddenly on August 30th, 2013.

On Monday 13th April, RTÉ and the Irish Museum of Modern Art, with the support of the Department of Arts, Sport and Tourism, hosted a celebration of Seamus Heaney’s 70th birthday which was carried live on RTÉ lyric fm and on RTÉ Radio 1. RTÉ Youtube Channel

RTÉ Heaney at 70

Seamus Heaney at Faber & Faber
Select Bibliography

Seamus Heaney Nobel Prize for Literature 1995
Crediting Poetry: Seamus Heaney Nobel Prize Lecture
Seamus Heaney at The National Library of Ireland

A list of Heaney’s work translated into Swedish has been contributed by Ann Steiner:

Fältarbete (1986) published by Fripress (translation of Field Work);

Hagtornslyktan (1988), published by Fripress (translation of The Haw Lantern);

Grönt ljus (1989), published by Fripress (selection of poetry);

På väg (1994), published by Natur och Kultur (selection of poetry);

I syner (1996), published by Natur och Kultur (translation of Seeing Things);

Dit man hör (1996), published by Natur och Kultur (selection of literary essays).