Friel, Maeve

Maeve Friel
Maeve Friel. Image source

Maeve Friel was born in Derry in 1950.

A prolific writer for children, The books in her Witch in Training series are Witch in Training – Spelling Trouble (London, Harper Collins 2003); Witch in Training – Charming or What (London, Harper Collins 2003); Witch in Training – Brewing Up, (London, Harper Collins 2003); Witch in Training – Broomstick Battles (London, Harper Collins 2004); Witch in Training – Witch Switch (London, Harper Collins, 2005); Witch in Training – Moonlight Mischief (London, Harper Collins, 2005); Witch in Training – The Last Task ( London, Harper Collins, 2005); and Witch in Training – The Broomstick Collection ( London, Harper Collins, 2006).

Her books in the Tiger Lily series are Tiger Lily – A Heroine in the Making (London, Stripes, 2007); Tiger Lily – A Heroine with a Mission. (London, Stripes, 2008); and Tiger Lily – A Heroine for All Seasons (London, Stripes Publishing, 2009).

Her Felix series is Felix on the Move (London, Franklin Watts, 2000); Felicity Floss: Tooth Fairy (London, Franklin Watts, 2006); and Felix and the Kitten, (London, Franklin Watts, 2008).

Her other books for children include The Deerstone, Dublin, Poolbeg, 1992; Charlie’s Story (Dublin, Poolbeg, 1993); Distant Voices (Poolbeg, 1994); The Lantern Moon (Poolbeg, 1996) (to be reissued (Dublin, Little Island, 2010); and Here Lies, Dublin (Poolbeg, 1997). Her awards include the Bisto Merit Award; Reading Association of Ireland Book Award; and for her adult story Irrational Developments, she was awarded the Hennessy Literary Award for 1990.

She lives in Dublin and Valencia.

Maeve Friel’s Website

The Magpie Press

Maeve Friel at The National Library of Ireland