Friel, Brian

Brian Friel
Brian Friel. Image source Aosdána

Brian Friel was born in Co Tyrone in 1929.

His short story collections are A Saucer of Larks (London, Gollancz, 1962) and The Gold in the Sea (Gollancz 1966).

He edited The Last of the Name (Memoirs of a Donegal Tailor).

His plays are This Doubtful Paradise (1959) The Enemy Within (Dublin, Abbey Theatre, 1962); Philadelphia Here I Come! (Dublin, Gaeity Theatre, 1964); The Loves of Cass Maguire (New York, Helen Hayes Theatre, 1966); Lovers (Dublin, Gate Theatre, 1967); Crystal and Fox (Gaeity Theatre, 1968); The Mundy Scheme (Dublin, Olympia Theatre, 1971); The Freedom of the City (Abbey Theatre, 1973); Volunteers (Abbey Theatre, 1975); Living Quarters (Abbey Theatre, 1977); Aristocrats (Abbey Theatre, 1979); Faith Healer (New York, Longacre Theatre, 1979); Translations (Derry, The Guildhall, Field Day Theatre, 1980); Three Sisters (Derry, The Guildhall, Field Day Theatre, 1981); The Communication Cord ( Derry, The Guildhall, Field Day Theatre, 1982); Fathers and Sons (Lyttleton Theatre, London, 1987); Making History (Derry, Guildhall, Field Day Theatre, 1988); Dancing At Lughnasa (Abbey Theatre, 1990); The London Vertigo (Dublin, Andrews Lane Theatre, 1992); Wonderful Tennessee (Abbey Theatre, 1993); Molly Sweeney (Gate Theatre, 1995); Give Me Your Answer, Do! (Abbey Theatre, 1997); and The Home Place (Gate Theatre, 2005), for which he was awarded Best Play in London’s Evening Standard Theatre Awards.

He was a member of Aosdána, and lived in Co Donegal. He died in 2015.

See Brian Friel at Irish Playography

Brian Friel at The National Library of Ireland

Ralph Fiennes in Faith Healer on Broadway

Uploaded by jehandersen on Jun 1, 2006
Clips of Ralph Fiennes in Brian Friel’s “Faith Healer” on Broadway (Booth Theatre) 2006.