Fallon, Padraic 1905-1974

Padraic Fallon
Padraic Fallon. Image source gallerypress.com

Padraic Fallon was born in Athenry, Co Galway in 1905. His first poems were published in Dublin by George Russell

His only collection during his lifetime, Collected Poems (Dublin, The Dolmen Press, 1974) was published a few months before his death.

His other collections are Poems & Versions (ed Brian Fallon, Dublin, Raven Arts Press/ Manchester, Carcanet Press, 1983); and A Look in the Mirror and Other Poems (Carcanet, 2003).

He also wrote many plays for radio in the 1950s, as well as short stories and literary journalism.

His plays are collected as The Vision of MacConglinne and Other Plays (ed. Brian Fallon, Carcanet, 2005).

His other works include A Poet’s Journal and Other Writings 1934-1974 (The Lilliput Press, 2005).

He died in 1974.

Padraic Fallon at The Gallery Press

Padraic Fallon at Carcanet

Padraic Fallon at The National Library of Ireland