Ellis, Conleth

Conleth Ellis
Conleth Ellis. Image source athlone.ie

Conleth Ellis was born in Carlow in 1937.

He was Chairman of Poetry Ireland for three years, and co-edited Poetry Ireland Review 13.

His poetry collections are This Ripening Time (1966); Under the Stone (Dublin, Gill and MacMillan 1971); Fómhar na nGéanna (1975); Aimsir Fháistineach (Baile Átha Cliath, Coiscéim, 1981); Nead Lán Sneachta (Coiscéim, 1982); After Doomsday (Dublin, Raven Arts Press, 1982); Táin (Coiscéim, 1983); Seabhac ag Guairdeall (Coiscéim,1985); Age of Exploration (Dublin, Dedalus, 1985); Darkness Blossoming (Dedalus, 1989); and the posthumous Selected Poems (Rebus, 2005).

His two novels are Aoibhinn An Galar (Coiscéim, 1987), An Canáraí Pinc (Baile Átha Cliath, An Gúm, 1990).

Conleth Ellis was the winner of three Oireachtas Prizes for Irish poetry, and won the Northern Bank/ Irish Times Irish-Australian Poetry competition in 1988. He was awarded a Hawthornden Fellowship for his writing in English.

He lived and taught for many years in Athlone, Co. Westmeath, and died there on 10th May 1988.

Conleth Ellis at Athlone.ie

A Reply to Conleth Ellis (Peter Denman, 1986)
Conleth Ellis at The National Library of Ireland