Donoghue, Emma

Emma Donoghue was born in Dublin in 1969.

Emma Donoghue
Emma Donoghue. Image source

Her novels are Stirfry (London, Hamish Hamilton, 1994/New York: HarperCollins, 1994); Hood (Hamish Hamilton, 1995); Slammerkin (London, Virago, 2000/New York, Harcourt, 2000); The Woman Who Gave Birth to Rabbits (Virago, 2002/ Harcourt, 2002); Life Mask (Harcourt/Virago, 2004); Landing, (New York, Harcourt, 2007); Room (London, Picador/New York, Little, Brown and Company, 2010), which was short-listed for the 2010 Booker Prize and won the Hughes & Hughes Novel of the Year Award, 2010; and Frog Music (Picador/Little Brown and Company, 2014).

Her short stories have been published as Touchy Subjects (Harcourt, 2006/Virago, 2006), which was was longlisted for the 2006 Frank O’Connor Short Stories Award and was a New York Times Editor’s Choice; and Astray (Picador, 2012).

Her plays are I Know My Own Heart (1993); Ladies and Gentlemen (1996, published Dublin, New Island Books, 1998), both produced by Glasshouse Productions, Dublin; and The Talk of the Town (Dublin, Project Arts Centre, 2012).

Her work as an historian includes Passions Between Women: British Lesbian Culture, 1668-1801 (Harper Collins US, 1993). She has also edited What Sappho Would Have Said, an anthology of women’s love poetry; Kissing the Witch, A Book of Fairytales for Adults (Hamish Hamilton, 1997); Poems between Women (Columbia University Press, 1997); and The Mammoth Book of Lesbian Short Stories (London, Constable Robinson Publishing, 1999).
She lives in lives in Canada.

Emma Donoghue’s Website

Emma Donoghue at The Anti-Room

Emma Donoghue at The National Library of Ireland

Emma Donoghue talks to Richard & Judy

Uploaded by OfficialRichardJudy on Mar 3, 2011