Devlin, Martina

Martina Devlin
Martina Devlin. Image source

Martina Devlin was born in Omagh, Co Tyrone.

Her novels are Three Wise Men (London, Harper Collins, 2000); Be Careful What You Wish For (Harper Collins, 2001); Venus Reborn (Dublin, Poolebeg, 2003); Temptation (Poolebeg Press, 2004); and Ship of Dreams (Poolebeg, 2007).

Her non-fiction includes the autobiographical The Hollow Heart: The True Story of How One Woman’s Desire to Have a Baby Almost Destroyed Her Life (London, Penguin Books, 2005); and Banksters, with David Murphy (Dublin, Hachette Books Ireland, 2009).

She has also published a number of short stories. Her unpublished story Singing Dumb won The VS Pritchett Memorial Prize in 2012. Her other awards include a Hennessy Literary Prize.

A former Fleet Street journalist, she writes weekly columns for the Irish Independent, and contributes essays to RTÉ Radio 1’s Sunday Miscellany.

She lives in Dublin

Martina Devlin’s website
Martina Devlin at The National Library of Ireland