Delaney, Frank

Frank Delaney
Frank Delaney. Image source!/fdbytheword

Frank Delaney was born in Tipperary in 1942.

A prolific author of history, biography, and fiction, his fiction includes The Sins of the Mothers (London, HarperCollins 1992); Telling the Pictures (HarperCollins 1993); A Stranger in Their Midst (HarperCollins 1995); The Amethysts (HarperCollins 1997); My Dark Rosaleen (London, Hutchinson, 1998); Desire and Pursuit (HarperCollins 1998); Pearl (HarperCollins, 1999); At Ruby’s, (HarperCollins, 2001); Bell Walk (Harper Collins, 2003); Ireland : A Novel (New York, Time Warner Books, 2004); Tipperary: A Novel (Random House, 2007); Shannon: A Novel (New York, Random House, 2009); Venetia Kelly’s Travelling Show (Random House, 2010); and The Matchmaker of Kenmare (Random House, 2011).

His non-fiction includes James Joyce’s Odyssey: A Guide to the Dublin of Ulysses (New York, Holt, Rinehart and Winston, 1982/London, Granada 1983); Benjamin Country (London, Hodder and Stoughton/ John Murray, 1983); The Celts (London, Hodder & Stoughton 1986/ Boston, Little, Brown, 1986); A Walk in the Dark Ages (1988); Legends of the Celts (Harper Collins, 2008); A Walk to the Western Isles: After Boswell and Johnson (London, HarperCollins, 1993); Simple Courage (Random House, 2006).

He has also written for radio, TV and theatre.

He lived in Kent, Connecticut, where he died in 2017.

Frank Delaney’s Website

Frank Delaney on Twitter

Frank Delaney at The National Library of Ireland