Davison, Philip

Philip Davison
Philip Davison. Image source irishliteraryrevival.com

Philip Davison was born in Dublin in 1957.

His novels include The Book-Thief’s Heartbeat (Dublin, Co-Op Books, 1981); Twist and Shout (Dingle, Brandon Books, 1983); The Illustrator (Dublin, Wolfhound Press, 1988); The Crooked Man (London, Jonathan Cape, 1997); McKenzie’s Friend (Jonathan Cape, 2000); The Long Suit (Jonathan Cape, 2003); and A Burnable Town (Jonathan Cape, 2006).

He has had one play produced, The Invisible Mending Company (Dublin, The Abbey Theatre, Peacock Stage, 1996).

He has co-scripted the film dramas Exposure, and Criminal Conversation. His radio plays include Being Perfect (RTÉ, 2004); The Duke (RTÉ, 2004); Lennon’s Guitar (RTÉ, 2005); and The Fishmonger (RTÉ, 2006)

A member of Aosdána, he lives in Dublin.

Philip Davison’s website

Philip Davison at Random House

Philip Davison at The National Library of Ireland