D’Arcy, Margaretta

Margaretta D'Arcy
Margaretta D'Arcy. Image source indymedia.ie

Margaretta D’Arcy was born in London of Irish parentage in 1934 and was brought up and educated in Ireland.

Her book-published work includes Tell Them Everything (1962); Awkward Corners; Political and Cultural Essays, with John Arden (London, Methuen); Arden and D’Arcy, Plays 1 (Methuen); Galways Pirate Women, a Global Trawl, compiled by Margaretta D’Arcy (Women’s Pirate Press, 1996).

Her plays include The Pinprick of History; Vandaleur’s Folly; Women’s Voices from W. of Ireland; Prison-voice of Countess Markievicz; A Suburban Suicide (a radio play, BBC3, 1995); Lajwaad (The Good People, play by Abdel Kader Alloula, adapted by M. D’Arcy for readings in London, 1995); and Dublin (Irish Writers’ Centre, 1996).
Plays devised as group productions include Muggins is a Martyr; The Vietnam War-game; 200 Years of Labour; The Mongrel Fox; No Room at the Inn; Mary’s Name; Seán O’Scrúdu; Silence.

Plays written in collaboration with John Arden include The Business of Good Government; The Happy Haven; Ars Longa Vita Brevis; The Royal Pardon; The Hero Rises Up; The Ballygombeen Bequest; The Non-Stop Connolly Show; Keep the People Moving (BBC Radio); Portrait of a Rebel (RTÉ Television); The Manchester Enthusiasts (BBC 1984 and RTÉ 1984 under the title The Ralahine Experiment); Whose is the Kingdom? (9 part radio play, BBC 1987). Her publishers include Methuen, Cassells, Allison & Busby (formerly Pluto Press), all London.

She is a member of Aosdána and lives in Galway.

Margaretta D’Arcy at Indymedia.ie

Interview with Margaretta D’Arcy and John Arden

Margaretta D’Arcy at The National Library of Ireland