Collins, Michael

Michael Collins
Michael Collins. Image source

Michael Collins was born in Limerick in 1964.

His stories are collected as The Meat Eaters (London, Jonathan Cape, 1992) published in the US as The Man Who Dreamt of Lobsters (New York, Random House, 1993), which was cited as a New York Times Notable Book; and The Feminists Go Swimming (London, Pheonix House, 1996).

His novels are The Life & Times of a Teaboy (London, Pheonix House, 1994); Emerald Underground (Pheonix House, 1998), which was shortlisted for The Kerry Ingredients Prize 2000; The Keepers of Truth (Pheonix House, 2000, New York, Scribners, 2001), which was shortlisted for The Booker Prize, 2000; The Resurrectionists (Pheonix House, 2002); Lost Souls, (London, Weidenfeld & Nicolson, 2003/New York, Viking, 2004); and The Secret Life of E. Robert Pendleton (Weidenfeld & Nicolson, 2006), published in the US as Death of a Writer (New York, Bloomsbury USA, 2006); Uncertain Significance (Notre Dame, IN, Corby Books, 2011); and The Death of All Things Seen (London, Head of Zeus, 2016).

He has been shortlisted for The Man Booker Prize and Impac Prize, and his novel, The Secret Life of E. Robert Pendleton won Breakout Novel of the Year in France 2008.

An ultra marathon athlethe, Collins teaches and lives in Michigan, USA.

Michael Collins’ website
Michael Collins at The National Library of Ireland