Clifton, Harry

Harry Clifton
Harry Clifton. Image source

Harry Clifton was born in Dublin in 1952. His poetry collections are The Walls of Carthage (Dublin, The Gallery Press, 1977); Office of the Salt Merchant (The Gallery Press, 1979); Comparative Lives (Oldcastle, Co Meath, The Gallery Press, 1982); The Liberal Cage(The Gallery Press, 1988), Night Train through the Brenner (The Gallery Press, 1996), The Desert Route Selected Poems 1973-1988 (The Gallery Press, 1992), which was a London Poetry Book Society Recommendation, God in France (Dublin, Metre, 2003); Secular Eden: Paris Notebooks, 1994-2004 (Wake Forest University Press, 2007); The Winter Sleep of Captain Lemass (Tarset, Northumberland, Bloodaxe Books/Wake Forest University Press, 2012); The Holding Centre: Selected Poems 1974-2004 (Bloodaxe Books and Wake Forest Press, 2013); and
Portobello Sonnets (Bloodaxe Books, 2017).

His short fiction is collected as Berkeley’s Telephone (Dublin, The Lilliput Press, 2000), while his chronicle of a year in the Abruzzo Mountains is On the Spine of Italy (London, MacMillan, 1999).

His awards include The Patrick Kavanagh Award, and The Irish Times/Poetry Now Award 2008 for Secular Eden.
He has lived in various parts of the world, and is a member of Aosdána.

He was Ireland Professor of Poetry 2010–2013, and currently lives in Dublin.

Harry Clifton at The Poetry Foundation

Harry Clifton at Wake Forest University Press

Harry Clifton at The National Library of Ireland