Carson, Ciaran

Ciaran Carson
Ciaran Carson. Image source

Ciaran Carson was born in Belfast in 1948.

His poetry collections include The New Estate (Belfast, Blackstaff Press, 1976) which won the Eric Gregory Award; The Irish for No (Oldcastle, Co Meath, The Gallery Press, 1987, and subsequently Wake Forest Press, USA/Bloodaxe Books, UK), which won the Alice Hunt Bartlett Award; Belfast Confetti (Gallery Books, 1989, subsequently Wake Forest Press/Bloodaxe Books) which won the Irish Times/Aer Lingus Award for Irish Poetry, the Ewart-Biggs Prize, the Irish Book Award and was shortlisted for the Whitbread Prize; First Language (The Gallery Press/Wake Forest Press, 1993) which won the T.S. Eliot Prize; Opera et Cetera (The Gallery Press, 1996) which was a UK Poetry Book Society Choice; and simultaneously, The Twelfth of Never (London, Picador, 1999); The Ballad of HMS Belfast (Gallery, 1999); Breaking News (Gallery Press, 2003), for which he won the Forward Poetry Prize; For All We Know (Gallery Press, 2008), which was a Poetry Book Society Choice; and Until Before After (Gallery Press, 2010).

He has made a new translation of The Táin (London, Penguin Classics, 2007); and his translation of The Inferno of Dante Alighieri (London, Granta Books, 2002) was awarded the Oxford Weidenfeld Translation Prize. In 2003 he was made an honorary member of the Irish Translators’ and Interpreters’ Association.

He has also published two prose books, The Pocket Guide to Irish Traditional Music (Belfast, The Appletree Press, 1996), and Last Night’s Fun (London, Jonathan Cape, 1996).

His novels are Shamrock Tea (London, Granta Books, 2001); and The Pen Friend (Belfast, Blackstaff Press, 2009); and Exchange Place (Blackstaff Press, 2013).

He is a member of Aosdána and lives in Belfast.

Ciaran Carson at The Seamus Heaney Centre for Poetry, Queen’s University Belfast

Ciaran Carson at The Poetry Archive

Ciaran Carson at Culture Northern Ireland

Ciaran Carson at The National Library of Ireland