Boland, Eavan

Eavan Boland was born in Dublin in 1944.

Eavan Boland
Eavan Boland. Image source

Her collections of poetry include 23 Poems (Dublin, Gallagher, 1962); The War Horse (London, Gollancz,1975); In Her Own Image (Dublin, Arlen House, 1980); Night Feed (Arlen House, 1982); The Journey (Manchester, Carcanet, 1987); Selected Poems (Carcanet, 1989/Pennsylvania, U.S.A., W W Norton & Co Inc, 1991); Outside History (Carcanet, 1990/W W Norton & Co Inc, 1991); An Origin Like Water – Collected Poems (New York, W.W. Norton, 1996); The Lost Land (Carcanet/W W Norton 1998); Code (Carcanet, 2001); Against Love Poetry (W.W.Norton, 2003); Domestic Violence (Carcanet/W. W. Norton, 2007); New Selected Poems (Carcanet, 2013); A Poet’s Dublin, with photographs by the author (Carcanet, 2014); and A Woman Without a Country (Carcanet, 2014).

Her other work includes a collection of prose writings, Object Lessons (Carcanet, 1995); and with Mark Strand she has edited The Making of a Poem, A Norton Anthology of Poetic Forms (WW Norton, New York/London, 2000).

Her awards include a Lannan Foundation Award in Poetry, and an American Ireland Fund Literary Award.

A member of the Irish Academy of Letters, she is Professor in Humanities at Stanford University in the USA.

Lunch Poems: Eavan Boland

Uploaded by UCtelevision on Apr 29, 2010

Eavan Boland at Stanford University
Eavan Boland at
Eavan Boland at The National Library of Ireland