Beckett, Samuel

Samuel Beckett
Samuel Beckett. Image source

Samuel Beckett was born in Foxrock, Co Dublin in 1906.

His fiction includes More Pricks Than Kicks (London, Chatto and Windus, 1934); Murphy (London, G. Routledge, 1938); Molloy (Paris, Les Editions de Minuit 1951); English translation as Molloy by Samuel Beckett and Patrick Bowles. (Paris, Olympia Press, 1955); Malone Meurt (Paris, Les Editions de Minuit 195I); English translation as Malone Dies (New York, Grove Press, I956, London, John Calder, 1958); Le Innommable (Paris, Les Editions de Minuit, 1953; English translation as The Unnamable (New York,Grove Press, I958); Watt (Paris, Olympia Press, 1953); Nouvelles et textes pour rien (Paris, Les Editions de Minuit, 1955; Translated into English by Richard Seaver, Anthony Bonner and Samuel Beckett as Stories and Texts For Nothing (New York, Grove Press, 1967); Comment C’est (Paris, Les Editions de Minuit 1961; English translation as How It Is (New York, Grove Press, 1964); Imagination Morte Imaginez (Paris Les Editions de Minuit, 1965; English translation as Imagination Dead Imagine (London, Calder and Boyars, 1965); From an Abandoned Work. Reprinted in No’s Knife. Collected Short Stories 1945-1966 (London, John Calder 1967); Sans (Paris, Les Editions de Minuit, 1969; English translations as Lessness (London, Calder and Boyars, 1970); Mercier et Cannier (Paris, Les Editions de Minuit, 1970; English translation as Mercier and Camier (New York, Grove Press, 1974); Premier Amour (Paris, Les Editions de Minuit, 1970; English translation as First Love, included in First Love and Other Stories (New York, Grove Press, 1974); Le Depeupleur (Paris, Les Editions de Minuit, 1970; English translation as The Lost Ones (New York, Grove Press, 1972; London, Calder and Boyars, 1972); All Strange Away. New York (New York, Gotham Book Mart, 1976); Pour Finir Encore et Autres Foirades (Paris, Les Editions de Minuit, 1976; English translation as Fizzles(New York, Grove Press, 1976; Company (New York, Grove Press, 1980; London John Calder, 1980) Mal Vu Mal Dit (Paris, Les Editions de Minuit, 1981 . English translation as Ill Seen Ill Said(New York, Grove Press, 1981); Worstward Ho (London, John Calder, 1983); L’Image (Paris, Les Editions de Minuit, 1988; English translation as The Images included in As tbe Story Told (London, John Calder, 1990; New York Riverrun Press, 1990); Stirrings Still (New York, Grove Press, 1988. London John Calder, 1988); Dream of Fair to Middling Women, edited by Eoin O’Brien and Edith Fourier (Dublin, Black Cat Press, 1992).

His principal dramatic works are En Attendant Godot (Paris, Les Editions de Minuit, 1952; New York, Grove Press, 1954). First production, Theatre De Barytone, 5th January 1953 . English translation as Waiting For Godot. All That Fall (New York Grove Press, 1957. Produced BBC, I957); Fin De Partie (Paris Les Editions de Minuit, 1957). Translated into English as Endgame (New York, Grove Press, 1958; London Faber and Faber. 1958). First production of English translation, London, 1958. Krapp ‘s Last Tape (London Faber and Faber, I959. New York Evergreen, 1960). First Production, London, 1958. Embers (London, Faber and Faber, 1960. New York Grove Press, 1960). First production, BBC, I959. Happy Days (New York, Grove Press, 1961). First production. New York 1961. Play (London, Faber and Faber, 1964). First production, New York, 1964, London, 1964. Film (New York, Grove Press, 1969). First production, 1969. Not I (London Faber and Faber, 1973). First production, New York, 1972. Footfalls (New York, Grove Press, 1976). First production. London, 1976. Rockaby (London, Faber and Faber, 1982). First production, Buffalo, New York, 1981. What Where (London, Faber and Faber. 1984). First production, New York, 1983. Eleutheria (Paris, Les Editions de Minuit, 1996. English translation as Eleutheria by Joseph Brodsky. New York, Foxrock, 1995.

His poetry volumes are Whoroscope (Paris, The Hours Press, 1930); Echo’s Bones and Other Precipitates (Paris, Europa Press, 1935); Poems in English (John Calder 1984); and The Collected Poems of Samuel Beckett Edited by Seán Lawlor and John Pilling (Faber and Faber, 2012).

His criticism includes Proust, (London, Chatto & Windus, 1931); Disjecta. Miscellaneous Writings and a Dramatic Fragment, edited by Ruby Cohn (John Calder, 1983)
He was awarded the Nobel Prize for Literature in 1969.
Amongst his biographies is Samuel Beckett, The Last Modernist (London, Harper Collins, 1996) by Anthony Cronin, from which the bibliography here was checked and amplified.

Samuel Beckett died in Hôpital Saint Anne, Paris, on December 22nd, 1989.

Samuel Beckett at
Samuel Beckett at

Samuel Beckett at Grove Atlantic
Listen to Text for Nothing #8 (1958)read by Jack MacGowan12 mins. 45 secs.
Hear also Samuel Beckett on UbuWeb
The Beckett Country – Eoin O’Brien at UCD
Beckett at Eoin O’
The Samuel Beckett On-Line Resources and Links Page
Glowing embers: a goodbye to Samuel Beckett
Faber buys up Beckett’s prose and poetry
Samuel Beckett at Faber
Samuel Beckett Digital Manuscript Project
Samuel Beckett at The National Library of Ireland

Samuel Beckett Speaks

Uploaded by 2birdsswimming on Jul 6, 2009

Footage of Beckett in 1987, taken from “Waiting for Beckett: A Portrait of Samuel Beckett” (Global Village Production, 1994). The clip presented here is of Beckett talking about “What Where.” More information on the documentary can be found here.

For those interested in purchasing a copy of the documentary on DVD, the details are here
(via Open Culture)

Samuel Beckett – Come and Go

(subtitulada en castellano) Uploaded Paco Titorelli

Come and Go is a short play (described as a “dramaticule” on its title page) by Samuel Beckett. It was written in English in January 1965 and first performed (in German) at the Schillertheater, Berlin on 14 January 1966. Its English language premiere was at the Peacock Theatre, Dublin on 28 February 1966, and its British premiere was at the Royal Festival Hall in London on 9 December 1968. It was written for and dedicated to the publisher John Calder.