Banville, John

John Banville was born in Wexford in 1945.

John Banville
John Banville. Image source

His novels are Long Lankin ([nine short stories and the novella, The Possessed], London, Secker & Warburg, 1970); Nightspawn (Secker & Warburg, New York/ WW Norton, 1971); Birchwood (Secker & Warburg/WW Norton, 1973); Dr Copernicus (London, Martin Secker & Warburg, 1976); Kepler (Martin Secker & Warburg, 1981); The Newton Letter (Martin Secker & Warburg, 1982/ Boston, David R. Godine, 1987); Mephisto (Martin Secker & Warburg, 1986/ David R.Godine, 1989); The Book of Evidence (Martin Secker & Warburg, 1989/ New York, Charles Scribner’s Sons, 1989); Ghosts (London, Secker & Warburg, 1993); Athena (Secker & Warburg, 1995); The Untouchable (London, Picador, 1998); Eclipse (Picador, 2000); The Sea (Picador, 2005); The Infinities (Picador, 2009); Ancient Light (London, Viking Penguin, 2012); The Blue Guitar (Viking Penguin, 2015); and Mrs Osmond (Viking Penguin, 2017).

His two trilogies have been published as single volumes – The Revolutions Trilogy: Doctor Copernicus, Kepler, Newton Letter – An Interlude; (Picador, 2000); and Frames: Book of Evidence, Ghosts, Athena (Picador 2001).

He has also published a play, The Broken Jug (Loughcrew, Co Meath, The Gallery Press, 1987), which was performed in the Abbey Theatre, Peacock stage, in 1987; and God’s Gift: A Version of Amphitryon by Heinrich Von Kleist (The Gallery Press, 2000). He has also published Prague Pictures: a Portrait of a City (London, Bloomsbury, 2003).

As Benjamin Black, he has published the thrillers Christine Falls (Picador, 2006); The Silver Swan (Picador, 2008); The Lemur (Picador, 2008); Elegy for April (London, Mantle, 2010); Vengeance (Mantle, 2012); A Death In Summer (Picador, 2012); Holy Orders (Picador, 2014); and Even the Dead (Viking, 2015)

He his written the screenplays for The Last September, based on the novel of the same name by Elizabeth Bowen, directed by Deborah Warner (1999); and The Sea, based on his own novel, directed by Stephen Brown (2011).

His memoir is Time Pieces: A Dublin Memoir (Dublin, Hachette Ireland, 2016).

He has received many awards, including The Allied Irish Banks Prize, and the Macauley Fellowship, for Birchwood (1973); The American-Irish Foundation Literary Award (1976); The James Tait Black Memorial Prize for Copernicus (1976); The Guardian Prize for Fiction for Kepler (1981), and the Guinness Peat Aviation Award for The Book of Evidence (1989), for which he was also shortlisted for The Booker Prize.

He won the 2005 Man Booker Prize for The Sea, and in 2011 he was awarded The Franz Kafka Prize.

The Newton Letter was filmed by Channel Four in Britain.

He lives in Dublin.

John Banville at
John Banville at

John Banville at the Paris Review
Benjamin Black Books
John Banville at The National Library of Ireland

John Banville

Uploaded by nemcomtelevision on May 18, 2008
John Banville talks about reading books.

John Banville

Uploaded by dbrodb1 on Jan 20, 2008
John Banville on mortality